B’reisheit

In the beginning … I am not even sure where to begin.  But know that “AND IT WAS GOOD!” will be a part of the story.

Last Fall, I knew I was going to be facing a career transition and consulted with a trusted friend/mentor on an idea I had.  When I asked myself, “If you can do anything, what would it be?”, I came up with two answers:  Get a doctorate and start my own consulting business.  The adviser encouraged me to start with a three-year plan, to outline the challenges or barriers to success, to engage in some research on both the education and the business, and to give myself permission to pursue this idea.

While the path has had a few dangerous curves it hasn’t had any dead ends. In April 2010, I started an EdD in Jewish Education Leadership and on July 1, 2010 I filed LLC paperwork for my new consulting agency JewishGPS, LLC.  I am quite sure that the future holds some bumps in the road and might even have some detours in store for me, but I am confident that I am on the right path. The journey ahead is destined to be a wild ride.

Some might say that this does not follow the traditional career path, and I agree. When I was in 5th grade, my teacher required us to memorize a collection of Robert Frost poems.  At the time, I resented the task.  Years later, when I was in college, I came back across a quote from one of those poems, The Road not Taken.  From it, I have taken my favorite quote, and in many ways the inspiration for how I live my life:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.


I look forward to meeting you somewhere along the way.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marilynn Rothstein
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 07:58:08

    If your consulting is as innovative as your presentation, you will do well. Best of luck to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,102 visits
